Nominate a social housing volunteer

Nominations are now open for DHHS’s social housing volunteer awards.

The Frances Penington and Molly Hadfield Award publicly acknowledge an individual tenant or a group of tenants who have made a positive contribution to their community.

Frances Penington Award

The Frances Penington Award celebrates an individual public or community housing tenant, or a group of tenants, who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to their community.

The award honours the late Frances Penington who, as a Commissioner of the Housing Commission, was the first woman appointed to the board of a statutory authority in Victoria. She was also a strong advocate for women in housing estates and was active in building and supporting the tenant community and sparking community involvement.

Molly Hadfield Award

The Molly Hadfield Award honours outstanding services to older tenants.

The award is named after the late Mary (Molly) Hadfield OAM, who was a dedicated advocate for public housing tenants. She was also a founding member of the Housing for the Aged Action Group, which formed in 1983.

Nominations close on Monday, September 20.

Click here for details and for nomination forms.